Home Schooling is one alternative to school attendance. In Virginia “any parent, guardian, legal custodian, or other person having control or charge of a child” may provide home instruction as prescribed by §22.1-254.1 of the Code of Virginia.
A parent who elects home instruction must notify the shool division superintendent no later than August 15 of the intent to do so for the coming school year, provide a list of the subjects to be studied for the coming year, and provide evidence of having met one of the criteria described in §22.1-254.1A. of the Code of Virginia for providing home instrucion. (See Home Instruction Qualifications in the Guidelines for Home Instruction in Virgina handbook below on page 5.) Please note that complete package must be submitted annually.
Parents who move into the school division or begin home instruction after the school year has begun must notify the superintendent of their intent to provide home instruction as soon as practible and comply with the provisions of the statute within 30 days of such notice. (§22.1-254.1.B. Code of Virginia) This means that after providing the school division with a notice of intent, the parents can begin home schooling and they will have 30 days to submit the other required informatoin to the school division.
Evidence of Progress Requirement Waived for the 2019-2020 School Year due to COVID-19 School Closure
Due to the COVID-19 closure of schools, the evidence of progress required for home instruction students in accordance with §22.1-254 of the Code of Virginia has been waived for the 2019-2020 school year.
Please click on the following links for additional information on homeschooling:
COMPULSORY ATTENDANCE AND HOME INSTRUCTION RELATED STATUTES – Effective July 1, 2017
GUIDELINES FOR HOME INSTRUCTION IN VIRGINIA HANDBOOK - Revised July 1, 2018
If interested in Home Instruction please click on, “ Guidelines for Home Instruction in Virginia Handbook” and complete the, “Notice of Intent to Provide Home Instruction Form” above. If you have specific questions or concerns, please contact the Department of Student Support Services at (757) 628-3931.
JECB. Admission of nonpublic students for part-time enrollment
Private and home school students shall not be permitted to enroll part-time or to participate in academic or extracurricular activities in the Norfolk Public Schools.
Protection of Student Information
Section 22.1-254.1.G prohibits school divisions from disclosing to VDOE or any other person or entity outside of the local school division information from a parent or student regarding election to provide home instruction or regarding a claim of a religious exemption without the parent's written consent. Note: the school division is required to provide to the Department the aggregate number of students receiving home instruction as provided in section 22.1-254.1.B.
When a parent opts to home school their student, they are deciding to take on the full responsibility of educating their student, including maintaining their academic records. Neither the Department of Education nor public school divisions maintain any academic records such as transcripts or diploma status for students who have military recruiters, colleges, universities, technical schools, employers, or any other entity. VAC20-150-20 provides that local school divisions are to manage scholastic records for students who have met the applicable laws.